1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Putumayo Presents World Christmas Party

About.com Rating 3.5 Star Rating


Putumayo Presents World Party

Putumayo Presents World Party

(c) Putumayo Records, 2010

The Bottom Line

Putumayo Presents World Christmas Party is an upbeat CD of mostly modern and popular Christmas tunes performed in varying world music genres by artists from all over. As one might expect from the CD's title (and Putumayo's stellar reputation), it's an ideal soundtrack to a Christmas party. It doesn't have the gravitas or solemnity that one might want for a serious Christmas celebration, but for a casual and festive celebration, or as an alternative to the overplayed "classic" versions of most of these tunes, it oughtta jingle your bells perfectly.


  • Upbeat and catchy collection of tunes
  • A nice alternative to the same old Christmas music
  • A fun sampling of artists and genres


  • Some of these songs are so overplayed that they can't be saved


  • Released on Putumayo Records in November 2010
  • Total Playing Time 40.2 Minutes
  • Artists Include Charles Brown, Brave Combo, Jose Conde, and Maria de Barros

Guide Review - Putumayo Presents World Christmas Party

Your enjoyment of Putumayo Presents World Christmas Party hinges on one fairly simple thing: do you like "modern" Christmas songs such as "Santa Claus is Coming to Town," "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas," and "Rockin' Around the Christmas Tree?" If the answer is yes, you'll likely find these international-sounding versions fun and pleasant. If the answer is no, it's not likely that a Latin jazz or reggae twist will make you a convert (though it might be a reasonable compromise between you and, say, your Christmas fanatic Grandmother).

Highlights of Putumayo Presents World Christmas Party include the classic Charles Brown holiday number "Christmas Comes but Once a Year," a bluegrassy "Carol and the Kings" by the Alison Brown Quartet with Joe Craven, and a New Zealand reggae version of "Santa Claus is Coming to Town" (retitled "Kei Te Haere Mai A Hana Koko") by H.K. Crew featuring Kina.

Track Listing

  1. Wish You A Merry Christmas - Jacob Miller
  2. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas - Poncho Sanchez
  3. Christmas Comes But Once A Year - Charles Brown
  4. Rockin' Around The Christmas Tree - Keahiwai
  5. Winter Wonderland - Jose Conde
  6. Alegria - Maria De Barros
  7. Barra De Navidad Blues - Heritage Hall Jazz Band
  8. The Christmas Song - Brave Combo
  9. Kei Te Haere Mai A Hana Koko - H.K. Crew featuring Kina
  10. Carol and the Kings - Alison Brown Quartet with Joe Craven
  11. Boas Festas Mocambique - Costa Neto
  12. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town - Ed Calle with Arturo Sandoval
Disclosure: A review copy was provided by the publisher. For more information, please see our Ethics Policy.
  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. World Music
  4. Reviews
  5. Putumayo Presents World Christmas Party CD Review - CD Review of Putumayo Presents World Music Christmas Party

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.